All traffic violations occurring within Ogden City limits and resulting in a traffic citation must be satisfied with the Ogden City Justice Court. Ogden City’s Justice Court can only process charges made within Ogden City limits. If your citation was issued elsewhere in Weber County, please visit the Second District's Directory.
Most traffic violations do not require a court appearance. However, failure to appear or respond to a citation within 14 days will result in additional fines, an arrest warrant, and eventually, suspension of your license.
Parking citations that have been issued in Ogden City are handled by the Ogden City Justice Court. Three options are available to pay your parking citation: 1) Pay in person or use the drop box located by the front door of the Ogden City Justice Court located at 310 26th St., Ogden, UT, 2) Pay by phone by calling 801-629-8560, have your parking citation number available, or 3) Pay online. With this link you will exit the Ogden City website; Ogden City is not responsible for the content of external sites.
If you want to appeal your parking citation, you may click here. Your appeal will be sent to the hearing officer for parking citations who will review your appeal and respond back to you by email with a decision.
Paying a Traffic Citation
If you admit to the charge on your citation and wish to post bail (pay the ticket), you have the option of paying either in person, by mail, phone, or paying online at www.utcourts.gov/epayments for non-mandatory appearance violations.
Plea In Abeyance for minor traffic violations (Traffic School Option)
If you have received a citation and have no other moving violations on your record for the previous three years, you may opt to ask for a Plea In Abeyance and complete Ogden City Prosecutors Traffic School. After your completion of traffic school, your citation is dismissed. You will need to contact the Justice Court or meet with the Liaison Officer to process your request.
If you do not qualify for the Plea In Abeyance program, you may call the Utah Safety Council at 800-933-5943 to discuss with them the Defensive Driving Course to remove any accumulated points on your Utah Driver's License.
Appearing in Court
Some citations are classified as mandatory appearance violations because of their severity and risk to the public. To verify whether your citation requires you to appear in court, you can either check the court bail schedule or contact a court clerk who will be happy to assist you.
Contesting a Traffic Citation
If you have been charged with a non-mandatory appearance citation and wish to contest the charges, you have the option to work with the Court Liaison Officer. The Justice Court has made this process available to the public to provide you with the opportunity to meet one on one with a retired Ogden City Police officer to discuss your options for specific mandatory appearance and non-mandatory appearance violations. You will then be better informed to make a decision as to how you will proceed with your case.
If you wish to contest the charge(s) on your citation and plead not guilty, you must visit the Justice Court in person within 14 days of the citation and request that a clerk assign you an initial court date. During your court appearance you may request a trial (with or without a jury). Your trial date will be set by the judge at that time.